dingdangblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Just say, NO. June 6, 2014

Filed under: aging,funny,Parenting — ddl6 @ 9:31 am
Tags: , , ,

The older I get, the less I feel the need to explain myself.  I just don’t have time for that anymore.  Take it or leave it, that’s the truth.  That’s why, over the last year or so, I have taken to responding to things that confuse, anger or upset me with one simple phrase: “No.”  Yep, no.  It explains so much on its own, don’t you agree?  I do.  That’s why, for my first blog post in nine ding, dang months, I will list the things that I feel……no………just,no, about.  No explanations, just, no.  Here we go, in no particular order.

  1. Geese. No.
  2. Duck Dynasty. No
  3. The band, Florida/Georgia Line. No.
  4. Decaf coffee. No.
  5. Talking, non-stop, about how busy you are. No.
  6. Disney. No.
  7. Anne Hathaway. No.
  8. Coughs.  No.
  9. High rise shorts. No.
  10. Goat cheese.  No.
  11. Shopping with my highly opinionated daughter.  No.
  12. Not returning my texts.  No.
  13. Having to check my voicemail.  No.
  14. Snakes.  No.
  15. Peas.  No.
  16. When people say, “Where’s that at?”.  No.
  17. Using the wrong form of “your” .  No.
  18. Hair in the drain.  No.
  19. BJ’s (the store, people). No.
  20. Wal-Mart.  No.                                                  

I believe that covers it.  Take my word for it, it’s liberating to not have to explain yourself.  Just say, no. 

 

 

6 Responses to “Just say, NO.”

  1. Deb Costello Says:

    Can I pick one thing on this list that you might say maybe? I pick goat cheese… maybe? If I make you something delicious?

  2. Annie Says:

    Chomping on your gum. No.
    Cutting in line. No.
    Being too cool for sunscreen. No.
    Drinking and driving. No.
    Mean girls. No.
    Fake nails. No.
    Bitching about weight when you’re 100 pounds. No.
    Giving me back the soda with one sip left. No.
    Talking loudly during the movie. No.
    Whining. No.
    Yogurt with pieces in it. No.
    Lying to mommy. No.
    Cooked fruit. No.
    Always being late. No.

    I could go on.

  3. Terrie Schlitsey Says:

    Prejudice. No.
    Incorrect grammar. No.
    judgmental people. No.
    Loudly proclaiming your Christianity while acting in very non-Christ-like ways. No.
    Bullying. No.
    Colleges that put more emphasis on winning at sports than providing quality education for athletes. No.
    Injustice. No.
    Old men deciding to send young men to war without real cause. No.
    Snow in April. No. (yep, I live in the north!)
    Abusing children and/or pets. NO.
    Cooked carrots or celery. No.
    Rap music. No.
    Vulgar language. No.
    Rudeness. No.
    Talking and reading or sending texts while driving. No.
    Reading and/or sending texts while having a conversation with someone. No.
    Talking loudly on cell while in public places. No.
    Most “reality” TV shows. No.
    Chronic pain. No.


Leave a Reply

